From a correspondent
TEZU, Jun 2: Tamlanagar defeated Govt Hr Sec School, Tezu 4-2 in a keenly contested final at the Jubilee ground here today to hold aloft the winner’s trophy of the four-day football tournament which was organized by the ITBP.
As part of its year-long Golden Jubilee celebrations across the country, the ITBP, 25th Bn conducted the tournament to give a platform to promising footballers of Lohit district.
As many as 12 teams – Indira Gandhi Govt College, Govt Hr Sec School, Sec School, Tezu besides Loiliang; Tafragram, Changliang, Kholoriang, Telluliang, Lohitpur, Tamlanagar, Liongang and Danglat participated in the tournament.
Coming to individual awards, Jonniso was adjudged as best goalkeeper while best player of the tournament award went to Somem Tulang. The Tafragam Youth Club bagged the best disciplined team award.
Local MLA and Parliamentary Secretary for PHE & WS, Karikho Kri, in his address, while advising the players to maintain sportsmanship said that education comes first for the students who should try to excel in this field to shoulder the future responsibility of the district in right perspective.
He further called upon the youth force to stay away from any sort of addiction.
Kri also lauded the ITBP for reaching to common masses by facilitating humanitarian services under their Civil Action Programme (CAP) despite guarding the borders and maintaining the internal security of the country.
The ITBP also gave away boots and tracksuits to both winner and runner-up teams.
Among others, DC R K Sharma, Hoshiyar Singh, 2nd in command of 25th Bn ITBP, officials and general public witnessed the exciting final match.



You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment


You must be logged in to post a comment.


Australia 275/8 v South Africa 280/6

Bengal 262/10 * v Karnataka 268/9

Odisha 238/7 v Punjab 244/3 *

Sri Lanka A v England XI

Pakistan International Airlines 92/7 * v Bahawalpur Stags 137/10

Habib Bank Limited 128/10 v Hyderabad Hawks 95/2 *

Khan Research Laboratories 176/10 v State Bank of Pakistan 35/4 *

Sui Southern Gas Corporation 266/10 v Pakistan Television 14/1 *

United Arab Emirates 168/10 * v New Zealand A 246/10

Bangladesh 251/7 v Zimbabwe 183/10 *

North West 102/1 * v KwaZulu-Natal 204/8

Eastern Province 81/1 * v Boland 181/10

Free State v Gauteng

Titans 79/5 v Warriors 79/5 *

Cape Cobras 7 * v Lions