NEW DELHI, Sep 21: Chasing a mammoth 192-run target, Bangladesh struggled as they lost wickets at regular intervals in their ICC Twenty20 World Cup match against New Zealand.
New Zealand’s pacer Kyle Mills dismissed Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim in quick succession to rock Bangladesh chase. Tim Southee also joined the party removing Mohammad Ashraful to reduce Bangladesh 37/4 in 6.4 overs.
Mills struck in the first over of the innings to scalp Tamim for nought. Mills scalped Shakib and Mushfiqur in his successive overs to leave Bangladesh stuttering 33/3 in 4.4 overs.
Earlier, Brendon McCullum blasted his way to score 123 off 58 balls as he propelled New Zealand to mammoth 191/3.
McCullum became the first batsman to score two centuries in the shortest form of the game. His 123 is also the highest individual score in this format.
McCullum stitched 78 runs partnership off just 35 balls with skipper Ross Taylor to power Kiwis to huge total. Taylor also played a fine cameo with an unbeaten 14 off 12 balls.
Mashrafe Mortaza broke the second wicket stand between McCullum and James Franklin by removing the latter for 35.
McCullum smacked five fours and two sixes to reach his flamboyant fifty and ensured Kiwis to post the big total on the board for Bangladesh.
McCullum and James Franklin added 94 runs stand in 65 balls for the second wicket to steady New Zealand innings after losing the first wicket cheaply.
McCullum hammered a six over covers off Shakib Al Hasan to take Kiwis past fifty runs mark in the eight over. McCullum defied the Bangladesh attack with his powerful hitting after Kiwis struggled early in the innings.
Bangladesh spinner Abdur Razzak struck in his first over to give New Zealand early jolt as he scalped Martin Guptill. Guptill, who smashed a six in his 11 off 14 balls, tried to defend but missed the line of the delivery and the ball went on to hit the stumps.
Bangladeshi bowlers started off well as they conceded just 34 runs in the first six overs of the powerplay including the prize scalp of Guptill.
Earlier, Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim won the toss and chose to bowl against New Zealand. (Agencies)



You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment


You must be logged in to post a comment.


Central Zone 276/10 & 403/10 v South Zone 184/1 & 379/10 *

Amo Region 148/3 & 454/10 * v Mis Ainak Region 363/10 & 382/7

Australia 261/10 * v Pakistan 570/6

KwaZulu-Natal 308/6 v Eastern Province 82/3 & 100/10 *

Boland 159/10 & 261/6 * v Western Province 384/10

Free State 324/9 v Northerns 247/10 & 4 *

South Western Districts 242/10 v Namibia 130/10 & 94/10 *

Border 197/10 v North West 187/10 & 68/3 *

Victoria 265/3 * v New South Wales 366/10

South Australia 207/2 * v Queensland 443/8

Western Australia 317/7 * v Tasmania 215/10

Ananda College 134/8 v St. Peters College 107/10 *

Sri Lanka A 245/8 v West Indies A 71/2 *

Richmond College 149/7 v Polonnaruwa Combine Schools 48/4 *